Lori’s Stories

story

After some consideration, I decided that my stories belong in a blog. So here they are: my original stories. Look for new stories soon!

Sheep Working Late (Self Portrait)
Back in college, I wrote my papers on a manual typewriter at a desk I had found on the streets of Brooklyn. Wearing a woolly bathrobe as I worked late into the night, I felt very sheepish.
NightMusic_web Night Music
Like many other Long Islanders, we lost power for more than a week after Hurricane Sandy. This painting was inspired by a photo my husband took at the time, of me and my son. Although the power outage left us cold and in the dark, we discovered the perfect remedy: a roaring fire in the fireplace, a soothing beverage, candlelight, and a little night music.
rocksRhard_web Rocks are Hard
When I first showed this painting to Kathy, she said she really liked it. “Rocks are hard to paint”, she explained.
Naively I replied, “Really? I didn’t know rocks are hard”.
Jellybean_web Jellybean
On Jellybean’s 9th birthday, an unusually warm January day, we took him for a walk at Blydenburgh County Park. Stump Pond looked small when we first came to it, so we decided to walk around it. By the time we got back to our starting point, four hours had passed. But Jellybean didn’t mind.
SchoodicPoint_web Schoodic Point
This is one of my favorite spots at Acadia National Park. The seagulls go fishing in the tide pools for little green crabs. They’re also happy to scavenge for scraps left by tourists on the rocks.
SleepyOwl_web Sleepy Owl
Pumpkin is a Screech Owl who lives at the Sweetbriar Nature Center. Because of a problem with his vision, he is unable to hunt for his food. When I went to sketch him, he was dozing on and off in his cage. I imagine he was dreaming of being in the forest, under a bright winter moon.
Breakfast_web Breakfast
We were eating breakfast in our cabin when this guy landed on the rock outside our window carrying the biggest bass in the pond. Even when we went to get our cameras, he sat there proudly, showing off his catch. When his family called to him, he flew off with the fish to share it with them. Both families had a good breakfast that morning.

Leave a comment